Where Have I Been?

As some of you may know, I used to run a photography blog but discontinued it in 2015. Well here is my return to blogging. I hope you will join me on this journey.

2016 was a big year for Alex Robertson Photography, however, I’m hoping that 2017 will be even better. Here’s how I spent my 2016 away from blogging.

I started 2016 with a brand new camera and more motivation forever. I was studying photography at college but not enjoying it too much, I knew I wanted to do my own thing. So I started planning and by the summer of 2016 I was selling my own prints in the Farm Shop where I live and via my Facebook page. Although I haven’t sold many, I have had a steady flow of people wanting to buy my images which definitely helps my motivation. It’s always nice when other people appreciate your art.

buttercups-rb
One of the prints available to purchase

The summer of 2016 was rather busy, as well as selling my prints, I also attended several events. The first of which being the opening to the exhibition Shoes at Bowes Museum. I was invited to take photos of the event. I was definitely one of the youngest people there by a mile. There were lots of men in fancy suits and ladies in wonderful dresses. Although I stood out a bit in my skinny jeans, I did get several compliments on my Dr Martens. Which, at a shoe exhibition, I was quite proud of. The whole night was a delightful experience where I got to really see what it’s like to be a photographer.

13442301_1606233979687783_7462582732890908886_n
Shoes: Pleasure and Pain

Next was the summer fayre. As most of you may know, each year I help my mum run a charity fun day. This year was no exception, I helped with the organisation and took photos on the day. The atmosphere was amazing as always.

14045586_1636173630027151_4341165373164306174_n
Even Batman took time out of his busy schedule to join the fun

The third and final event of my year was Wolsingham Show. Each year they have a photography competition and 2016 was my first year competing in the adults section rather than the teenager section. Fair to say, I wasn’t expecting much as there were so many talented photographers displaying their work. However, I came away with a first prize, and multiple second and thirds. This was a huge moment for me, I realised that my work was actually on par with some amazing artists and I had finally moved up from beginner.

14222094_1646224632355384_6785249548657023211_n
The end of 2016 was nowhere near as exciting as the middle, however, I did begin my level three qualification in Photography and I am also carrying on to build my own bussiness. This is carrying on into 2017 where I hope that both my academic and professional career can flourish. I look forward to seeing you all in the future!

See you soon,

Alex

 

alexrobertsonphotography.co.uk

info@alexrobertsonphotography.co.uk

facebook.com/lexandacamera

instagram.com/lexandacamera

Buy My products here!

Leave a Reply

